Department Governance

Administrative Positions

  • The History Department Head is Jamie Kreiner (term expires June 2022).
  • The Director of Graduate Studies is Dan Rood.
  • The Director of Undergraduate Studies is Stephen Mihm.


Promotion and Tenure Guidelines

Guidelines for the Annual Evaluation of Faculty



Much of the work of the department is carried out by standing committees. Current committes and their membership include:

Franklin Senate (3-year term; elected spring)

  • Cassia Roth (term expires April 2021)
  • Cindy Hahamovitch (term expires April 2022)

Graduate Studies (3-year term; elected spring)

  • Peter Hoffer (term expires May 2023)
  • Susan Mattern (term expires May 2023)
  • Jake Short (term expires May 2021)
  • Dan Rood (ex officio)

Graduate Funding Committee (2-year term; elected fall)

  • Oscar Chamosa (term expires August 2021)
  • James Brooks (term expires August 2021)
  • Tim Cleaveland (term expires August 2020)

Personnel (2-year term; elected fall)

  • John Morrow, Jr. (term expires August 2021)
  • Ari Levine (term expires August 2020)
  • Steve Berry (term expires August 2021)

Policy (2-year term; elected spring)

  • Ben Ehlers (term expires May 2021)
  • Akela Reason (term expires May 2022)
  • Reinaldo Román (term expires May 2022)
  • Steve Soper (term expires May 2021)
  • Michael Winship (term expires May 2022)
  • Dan Rood (ex officio)
  • Stephen Mihm (ex officio)
  • Jamie Kreiner (ex officio)

Undergraduate Studies (3-year term; elected spring)

  • Kevin Jones (term expires May 2023)
  • Montgomery Wolf (term expires May 2022)
  • Timothy Yang (term expires May 2023)
  • Stephen Mihm (ex officio)