Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


2023 Annual History Undergraduate Student Awards

2023 Undergraduate Awards & Graduation reception

It’s been a year to celebrate for the Georgia Bulldogs. Our students have achieved great success this year – on and off the field—and we are proud to celebrate their achievements. The following is a list of our Annual History Undergraduate Student Awards presented at our recent award and graduation reception on May 12, at the Zell Miller Learning Center.

Phyllis Jenkins Barrow Scholarship

Presented to an outstanding junior history major.

Student: Morgan Paulding

Sponsor: Kalyani Ramnath

Joe Brown Connally Award

Presented to an outstanding junior who has demonstrated excellence in history and whose interests include Georgia history.

Student: Toni Telenta

Sponsor: Scott Nelson

Peggy Galis Graduation Award

Presented to an outstanding undergraduate student in history.

Student: Hannah York

Sponsor: Stuart Minson and Jake Short

Honorable Mention: Evan Lewis (sponsor: Reinaldo Román)

Alf Andrew Heggoy Award

Presented annually to an undergraduate for the best senior paper.

Student: Renata Tompson

Sponsor: Steve Soper

History Department Award

Presented to an outstanding undergraduate in a field other than American history.

Student: Stephen Goodyear

Sponsor: Benjamin Ehlers

Hostilo Family Scholarship in History

Presented to a student from a population that has been historically disadvantaged within the academic field of history.

Student: Zain Tahir Ali

Sponsor: Kalyani Ramnath

Kay Parker Digital Humanities Award 

Presented annually for an outstanding project in the digital humanities.   

Student: Victoria (Tori) Moody

Sponsor: Steve Soper

Thomas Pleasant Vincent Sr. Award

Presented to a distinguished undergraduate or graduate student of history with a special interest in the history of Georgia.

Student: Ashlyn Earnest

Sponsor: James Brooks

Warner-Fite Award

Presented to an outstanding graduate or undergraduate student in American/U.S. history.

Student: Zoe Anderson

Sponsor: Timothy Yang

(Study Away Scholarships)

Adam Cramond Martin Student Travel Award

This award honors Adam’s life and his accomplishments by providing annual travel awards for UGA history students who, like him, had to show resiliency, courage, and character to persevere in school in the face of sometimes and character to persevere in school in the face of sometimes overwhelming obstacles.

Presented by: Akela Reason

Student: Katherine Kubik

Program: University of Liverpool Summer Study Abroad (2023)

Drew and Dorianne Norwood Award for Study Abroad

Student: Micah Booker

Program: UGA á Paris (summer 2023)

Heggoy Travel Scholarship

Student: Savannah Chruszcz <

Program: UGA Classics in Rome (summer 2023)

(University-wide Award)

President’s Award for Excellence<

The Presidential Award of Excellence is awarded by the university to undergraduate students in their final year of study who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, strong extracurricular involvement, and/or service to and involvement in their respective school or college. Students selected for this award exemplify the best of UGA’s undergraduate student body. This award was previously presented to history major Logan King at the Presidential Honors Luncheon.

Note: for more pictures, please go to our Facebook page, UGAHistory.



Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.